The Pinhard Trophy

The Sunbeam Motor Cycle Club is once more seeking nominations for one of the UK’s most prestigious awards – The Pinhard Trophy.

This award has been presented since 1950 to the best Under-21-year-old sporting motorcyclist competing under ACU or SACU jurisdiction.

Thanks to the coronavirus pandemic and subsequent shortened race calendars, entries are now accepted from those who were under-21 in the period since November 1, 2018.

Article continues below...

Enjoy more Classic Racer reading in the monthly magazine.
Click here to subscribe & save.

The judges will be particularly interested in work done in the community during the current crisis.
Last year’s winner was 19-year-old trials rider Toby Martyn. Riding for the Beta Factory Team, he contested world, European and British championship trials, finishing joint 3rd in the world.

Previous winners are motorcycling greats from over the last 70 years, who have excelled in all spheres of the sport, including Mike Hailwood, Jeff Smith, Roy Peplow, Dan Shorey, Alexz Wigg, no less than three of the Lampkin family and a host of others who have gone on to be national and international household names.

Mike Hailwood in the centre holding the Pinhard Trophy

All sections of the ACU, together with the Scottish-ACU, are invited to submit entries, as well as anyone who feels personally eligible to make an entry.

Article continues below...

Entries can be for active competitors or administrators. Closing date is November 1, 2020. Entry forms and regulations are available from:

Read more News and Features online at and in the November/December 2020 issue of Classic Racer – on sale now!

Subscribe to Classic Racer Magazine Enjoy more Classic Racer reading in the bi-monthly magazine. Click here to subscribe.